Liquid Calories: Do Smoothies Lead to Weight Gain?

Drinks
If our body doesn’t register liquid calories as well, do smoothies inhibit weight loss? And why are blended soups more satiating than the same ingredients eaten in solid form?

New subscribers to our e-newsletter always receive a free gift. Get yours here: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/

I love the detective story ones! I can imagine videos like this being frustrating for those who just want me to cut to the chase—should I drink smoothies or not? But I don’t want you to ever do anything because I or anyone else just told you so. That’s the problem with the field of nutrition. Everyone seems to listen to their respective gurus who can sometimes just make pronouncements from on high without explaining their reasoning. Can you imagine that flying in any other field of science? It’s not what he said or she said; it’s that the best available balance of evidence bears out. Two plus two equals four no matter what your favorite mathematician says.

We’re almost done with Smoothiefest 2015! Here are the first three in case you missed them:
• Are Green Smoothies Good for You? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-green-smoothies-good-for-you)
• Are Green Smoothies Bad for You? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-green-smoothies-bad-for-you)
• Green Smoothies: What Does the Science Say? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/green-smoothies-what-does-the-science-say)

I close out with one final one before getting back to our regularly scheduled program: The Downside of Green Smoothies (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-downside-of-green-smoothies).

Other weight control topics for your viewing pleasure:
• Do Fruit & Nut Bars Cause Weight Gain? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-fruit-nut-bars-cause-weight-gain/)
• Does Chocolate Cause Weight Gain? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/does-chocolate-cause-weight-gain)
• Nuts and Obesity: The Weight of Evidence (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/nuts-and-obesity-the-weight-of-evidence/)
• How Diet Soda Can Make Us Gain Weight (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-diet-soda-could-make-us-gain-weight/)
• How Much Exercise to Sustain Weight Loss (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-much-exercise-to-sustain-weight-loss/)
• Brown Fat: Losing Weight Through Thermogenesis (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/brown-fat-losing-weight-through-thermogenesis)
• Boosting Brown Fat Through Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/boosting-brown-fat-through-diet)

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/liquid-calories-do-smoothies-lead-to-weight-gain and he’ll try to answer it!

Image Credit: Skitterphoto via Pixabay.

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: www.instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org
• Books: https://nutritionfacts.org/books
• Shop: https://drgreger.org

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

How to start a low carb diet
PCOS Weight Loss Smoothie Recipe|Tastes Amazing Even Though It’s Low Carb! #Shorts
How to Lose Fat AND Gain Muscle at the Same Time (3 Simple Steps)
Weight Loss (Low Carbohydrate Diets) | Jason Fung
The Metabolic Reset Diet: Lower Your Setpiont with Food

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *